The Government

Fine Gael and Labour formed a Coalition government, taking office on 9th March 2011, following the General Election on 25th February 2011.  Enda Kenny, Leader of Fine Gael is the new Taoiseach while Eamonn Gilmore, Labour Party leader takes office as an Tanaiste.
Find out more after the jump

Under the Constitution there must be at least one Member for every 20,000 to 30,000 people and at present there are 166 Members representing 43 constituencies. (For a full list, see Dail database at
There are a total of 166 TDs (public representatives) in the Dáil.  Fine Gael secured 76 seats, the Labour Party, 37 seats; Fianna Fáil has 20 seats. There are 15 seats held by Independents.  Sinn Féin holds 14, while ‘others’ take 4 seats (including People before Profit, Socialist Party). The Green Party has no seats in this, the 31st Dáil. .76 of the 166 TDs elected are new to Dáil Éireann.

Useful Resources:

The Dáil database contains information about all the Deputies and can be searched by name and/or constituency/Party.  See
The Programme for Government 2011-2016 can be downloaded from the websites of Labour and Fine Gael ( and  See e.g.
RTE pre-election and post election analysis and detailed information is available on its website, see
Website continues to remain live and hosts updates and debates on the formation of the new Government, post election.
For a list of the 76 new TDs and some information on their careers to date, see

Who’s who?

List of Ministers and Ministers of State

List of Ministers and Ministers of State

Photo Name Department
Enda Kenny Taoiseach
Eamon Gilmore Tánaiste & Minister for Foreign Affairs  & Trade
Michael Noonan Finance
Ruairí Quinn Education & Skills
Brendan Howlin Public Expenditure & Reform
Richard Bruton Enterprise, Jobs & Innovation
Joan Burton Social Protection
Jimmy Deenihan Arts, Heritage & Gaeltacht Affairs
Pat Rabbitte Communications, Energy & Natural Resources
Phil Hogan Environment, Community &Local Government
Alan Shatter Justice & EqualityandDefence
Simon Coveney Agriculture, Marine & Food
Frances Fitzgerald Children
James Reilly Health
Leo Varadkar Transport,Tourism & Sport


Ministers of State

Photo Name Department
Paul Kehoe TD Chief Whip & Defence – Department of Taoiseach & Department of Defence
Willie Penrose TD Housing & Planning – Department of Environment, Community & Local Government
Dinny McGinley TD Gaeltacht Affairs – Department of Arts, Heritage & Gaeltacht Affairs
Roisin Shortall TD Primary Care – Department of Health
John Perry TD Small Business – Department of Enterprise, Jobs & Innovation
Michael Ring TD Tourism & Sport – Department of Transport, Tourism & Sport
Jan O’Sullivan TD Trade & Development – Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Kathleen Lynch TD Disability, Equality & Mental Health – Department of Health & Department of Justice & Equality.
Fergus O’Dowd TD NewEra Project – Department of Communications, Energy & Natural Resources & Department of Environment, Community & Local Government
Brian Hayes TD Public Service Reform & OPW – Department of Public Expenditure & Reform & Department of Finance
Shane McEntee TD Food, Horticulture & Food Safety – Department of Agriculture, Marine & Food
Lucinda Creighton TD European Affairs – Department of the Taoiseach & Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Sean Sherlock TD Research & Innovation – Department of Enterprise, Jobs & Innovation & Department of Education & Skills
Ciaran Cannon TD Training & Skills – Department of Education & Skills
Alan Kelly TD Public & Commuter Transport – Department of Transport, Tourism & Sport

(List available at accessed 13 March 2011)

Dáil Éireann Members Database

House Number: 31st
Period: 09 March 2011 – 09 March 2016
Seats: 166